ru
en







List of Fabergé Eggs in chronological order
<<    1915      
Red Cross with Triptych
<<    1916    >>
Steel Military
      1916    >>
Order of St. George

  Steel Military

- Fabergé Easter Egg

Steel Military Easter Egg. 1916.
Steel Military Easter Egg. 1916.
Surprise of the egg is an easel with a miniature.
Surprise of the egg is an easel with a miniature.

Steel Military Easter Egg was created in 1916 by order of Emperor Nicholas II and presented to his wife, Empress Alexandra Feodorovna, for Easter. The master was Heinrich Wigström.

The egg has an austere appearance: the shiny steel body is divided by two smooth horizontal lines into three parts. In the center there are the gold superimposed images of the coat of arms of the Russian Empire, Sacred George, date "1916", surrounded with a laurel wreath, and the monogram of Aleksandra Fyodorovna. Crowns egg a gold imperial crown. Support for egg is executed in the form of four shells strengthened on the pedestal from nephrite with a gold edging.

A surprise of egg is the easel in the form of a monogram of tsarina Aleksandra Fyodorovna on which the miniature executed by a water color on a bone, representing emperor Nikolay II with son Alexey on a position of Russian armies is fixed. As egg was created in honor of rewarding of the tsar Order of Saint George IV of degree, the gold frame of a miniature is decorated with a black-orange tape and a white enamel cross of this award. The author of the miniature is Vasily Zuev.

Some experts have expressed the opinion that the more than restrained decoration of the egg was the result of the difficulties with precious stones and metals that the firm was experiencing at the time. In fact, the main problem for Fabergé was that many craftsmen were taken away for military service and to state factories. At times it happened that there was no one to fulfill even the orders of the supreme persons. There is also the theory that Fabergé deliberately made the "Military Egg" emphatically modest also because he was well aware of the character and lifestyle of his august customers. The way of life of the royal family was quite simple and unpretentious even in normal, pre-war times, and in the difficult days for Russia they did not consider possible any kind of extravagance and luxury, including gifts.

The height of the egg is 16.7 cm (without the stand - 10.1 cm). The height of the easel is 6.5 cm).

Perhaps the brilliant polishing of the egg was already done in Soviet times (there is no documentary confirmation of this version).


Applied gold image of the coat of arms of the Russian Empire.
Applied gold image of the coat of arms of the Russian Empire.
Applied gold image of St. George the Victorious.
Applied gold image of St. George the Victorious.
Applied gold date 1916 in a wreath.
Applied gold date "1916" in a wreath.
Applied gold monogram of the Empress Alexandra Feodorovna in a wreath.
Applied gold monogram of the Empress Alexandra Feodorovna in a wreath.

List of Fabergé Eggs in chronological order
<<    1915      
Red Cross with Triptych
<<    1916    >>
Steel Military
      1916    >>
Order of St. George


2000-2024 © Humpty Dumpty

Перечень яиц Фаберже в хронологическом порядке
<<    1915      
Триптих Красный крест
<<    1916    >>
Яйцо с миниатюрой на мольберте
      1916    >>
Орден Святого Георгия

  Яйцо Фаберже

Яйцо с миниатюрой на мольберте

Яйцо «Военное» с миниатюрой на мольберте. 1916 г.
Яйцо «Военное» с миниатюрой на мольберте.
Сюрприз яйца - мольберт с миниатюрой.
Сюрприз яйца - мольберт с миниатюрой.

Яйцо «Военное» с миниатюрой на мольберте (известное также под названием яйцо «Военное стальное», как перевод с английского Steel Military Egg) было создано в 1916 году по заказу императора Николая II и подарено на Пасху его супруге, императрице Александре Фёдоровне. Мастер - Генрих Вигстрем.

Яйцо имеет строгий облик: стальной блестящий корпус разделен двумя гладкими горизонтальными линиями на три части. В центре размещены золотые накладные изображения герба Российской империи, святого Георгия Победоносца, даты «1916», окруженной лавровым венком, и монограммы Александры Фёдоровны. Венчает яйцо золотая императорская корона. Подставка для яйца выполнена в виде четырёх снарядов, укреплённых на постаменте из нефрита с золотой каймой.

Сюрпризом яйца является мольберт в виде вензеля царицы Александры Фёдоровны, на котором закреплена миниатюра, исполненная акварелью по кости, изображающая императора Николая II с сыном Алексеем на позиции русских войск. Поскольку яйцо было создано в честь награждения царя орденом святого Георгия IV степени, то золотая рамка миниатюры украшена чёрно-оранжевой лентой и белым эмалевым крестом этого ордена. Автор миниатюры - Василий Зуев.

Некоторые специалисты высказывали мнение, что более чем сдержанное оформление яйца – результат трудностей с драгоценными камнями и металлами, которые тогда испытывала фирма. На самом деле главной проблемой для Фаберже было то, что многих мастеров забрали на военную службу и на казенные заводы. Порой случалось так, что некому было выполнять даже заказы высочайших особ. Также существует версия, что Фаберже сознательно сделал «Военное яйцо» подчёркнуто скромным ещё и потому, что прекрасно знал характер и образ жизни своих августейших заказчиков. Быт царской семьи был довольно прост и непритязателен и в обычное, довоенное время, а в тяжёлые для России дни они и вовсе не считали возможным всякие излишества и роскошь, в том числе и в подарках.

Высота яйца - 16,7 см (без подставки - 10,1 см). Высота мольберта - 6,5 см).

Возможно, блестящая полировка яйца была выполнена уже во времена СССР (документального подтверждения этой версии нет).


Накладное золотое изображение герба Российской империи.
Накладное золотое изображение герба Российской империи.
Накладное золотое изображение святого Георгия Победоносца
Накладное золотое изображение святого Георгия Победоносца
Накладное золотое изображение даты «1916» в венке.
Накладное золотое изображение даты «1916» в венке.
Накладное золотое изображение вензеля императрицы Александры Федоровны в венке.
Накладное золотое изображение вензеля императрицы Александры Федоровны в венке.
 
 

2000-2019 © Шалтай-Болтай
 
Не вздыхай - так надо!